Competition Diesel.Com -  Bringing The BEST Together

Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together (http://www.competitiondiesel.com/forums/index.php)
-   2WD Pullers (http://www.competitiondiesel.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=190)
-   -   Need some tips. (http://www.competitiondiesel.com/forums/showthread.php?t=158660)

BayleeWatson07 08-28-2013 10:15 AM

Need some tips.

I have a 1990 2wd d250 cummins that I'm planning on pulling with in October. BHAF, BD fuel pin and 3200 rpm governor spring, pump turned a little, and 4" turbo back exhaust. I'm planning on running a 33" all terrain or mud grip on back? Would it be a good idea to put blocks in the rear to lift it? I'm new to this so any tips would be greatly appreciated.

cmann250 08-28-2013 12:26 PM

If this is your daily driver, run the baldest tires you can find. No joke. Breaking your daily driver is no fun. Otherwise, something aggressive will suit you.

What's your location and whose rules will you be pulling under? That determines whether or not you can have blocks. If you can have blocks, a chunk of 6x6 will do.

If it does not hook up both tires on the street, but some weight on the spinning side and put a lot of weight at the back of the bed. Around the Midwest 8,000 lbs is the standard diesel class and your D model is at a whopping 5-5500 lbs.

Also, your hitch height is something like 22"-24" now, so an adjustable hitch would be good. Generally 2wds can hook at 30" or 31".

Also 727 or Getrag?

BayleeWatson07 08-28-2013 01:28 PM

It is a 727. I will be pulling in White Plains, GA. I checked rules and you can have blocks. And I kind of want to pull a street class with no weight if possible.

cmann250 08-28-2013 01:59 PM

Most often only hanging weight is not permitted, but other forms of gaining weight is ok. I still pulled in a street class with some weight shuffled around.