Old School HX35/HT3B vs Modern Compound Setup

Bersaglieri

Ron Swanson's Brother
I've been sporting my ole HX35-14/HT3B-26 setup for a few years. I tried churching it up by porting my manifold and the dual wastegated HX exhaust housing. But lately I've been thinking about changing it up. At first I wanted to run a smaller HT3B housing to help spool up even more, but alot of advances have been made lately and I think it's time to move up. I'm interested in something that spools as well or better, is more durable and keeps things cool while towing.

I've made a few phone calls and a few places have told me it isn't worth the money to upgrade. I'm hoping Compd can either kick me in the nuts or pat me on the back for wanting to step up.

I DD/Tow with this truck. All I tow is a 22ft low-deck gooseneck with a 3400lb Camaro to the track. However my current 4000ft altitude is not friendly to my 12v Cummin's oxygen needs, so a single won't cut it for towing. Mods: 5x.014, 181, GSK, and there is a Hamilton Cam waiting for install. The truck isn't a competition truck, it rarely sees much over 3200rpm. The only racing I do is occasionally toying with coworker's "off the lot" muscle cars.

So are the "shops" right?

Would it be foolish to upgrade to a S362/S475?

Should I be looking at smaller chargers in the S360/S471 area like the BD R700 kit to check temps sooner in the RPM range?

Would I be wasting my time building a HE351/HT3B-22 setup?

I can build my own piping, drains, and oil feed lines. Just got to buy the turbos and small parts.

-Dustin-