'81 Rabbit Diesel Truck wont run.... HELP

Bone stock 99

Im new to the whole rabbit diesel thing but I bought this little truck for a steal and the guy told me all it needed was a head gasket. Well it had sat for about 6-8 years and I bought it and put a head gasket in it. I tried to fire it up with the coolant tube off and it wouldnt hit on just fuel so with the glow plugs unplugged I gave it a small hit of starting fluid and it puffed a couple times and I got some smoke out of the blow by tube and the coolant tube out of the driver side of the head. Cylinder 2 wasnt in the best shape cuz of what the coolant did either but I smoothed it up. My guess is either the head is cracked or its not getting fuel from the injectors. Any help?:bang

If it won't run on ether, you have issues methinks, head would be a good place to start since it sounds like a loss of compression somewhere.

it hits on ether but its faint. Its pulling fuel but idk if its getting delivered? Thought the smoke out of the heads coolant passage was a bad sign that lead me to believe the head was cracked. I may just buy a new head from wagenparts.com and a piston kit as well and start from square 1.