Timbrens vs. Load Assist Air Bags.

DCSpecial

Mr. Sinister
I need to add something to my 2007 F-350 (front and rear most likely), what are the pros and cons of each?

My local trailer place is pretty big on the Timbrens, but I don't know anyone with first hand experience.
From what I found online they are rated at 8600#...I can get them for ~$180.00

I have friends with Air Lift and Firestone Load Assist 5000# rating...I can get for $225 + whatever air system if I get one.

Which one is the better option and why?

Airbags! Because you can adjust them!!!!!!! Just do the basic kit and install the fill in the rear bumper. Run 10psi empty and crank them up before you load the truck down. I run 100 in mine with the trailer on, and drain the air out to 10 if I'm bobtailing for a few days.

I have no experience with the timbrens other then removing 2 sets for buddies who hated them and replaced them with airbags.. :)

Sorry about not calling you back Dan, I forgot you called till I saw this post

Last edited:
Sapps,

That's what I was thinking about the bags.

Main reason I was thinking about onboard air.....sometimes I'll tow 11k in the morning to the jobsite, drive around with an empty trailer (3k) and then tow 11k again in the evening to haul my equipment back to the shop.
Figured it would be too stiff once I had the trailer empty or sometimes I drop the trailer at the job and run around in just the truck.

I want them in the front for the 800-950# snow plow that will be getting put on.

Talked with Wulff since you mentioned he had bags on his Dodge.....he seemed really happy with them.