Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Tech- General Diesel > Audio, Video, Lighting
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-21-2018, 10:56 AM   #1
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 3,581
4th Gen 2010/12 - Android Auto Install

I just wanted to share with anyone who was looking to upgrade.

Parts List (in case anyone wants some guidance, Total Cost: $458):
Pioneer MVH-2300NEX ($330)
ADS-MRR Maestro RR ($100)
ADS-HRN-RR-CH1 ($24)
Metra 40-EU10 Antenna Adapter ($6)
Metra 95-6511 Dash Kit ($8)
APPS2Car Parking Brake Bypass ($8)
BATIGE USB 3.0 & 2 RCA Male To 3.5mm ($12)

Let the wiring begin!
Click the image to open in full size.
Wires cut to length, stripped, soldered, heat shrunk. Good to go!
Click the image to open in full size.

Installed. It was a pain. I had to get out the dremel and cut the top part of the dash and steel dash frame to get this to fit. Also note that I had to go back in to plug my steeringwheel 3.5mm plug into the AUX port instead of the W/R port like the instructions said. I had to call Maestro direct to get that sorted out.
I didn't follow this image exactly. I left the fastener in and cut only enough to bend the steel with the help of my smallest vice grips. This was the worst part of the install though.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.

Android Auto works pretty well. I don't love the microphone (I did mount it after this picture). I looked at a clean OEM solution, but I hear the rear view mirror OEM one sucks. My wife has a 2016 Ford Focus Titanium, and he microphone is insanely good. I am thinking I might pick up that PN, and try and mount it to the overhead console if I can find a place to hide it.
Click the image to open in full size.

First thoughts:
It has a ton of adjustment, and since the stock sound system has a remote amp and pretty decent speakers, this uses those instead of trying to amplify. I think that's where a lot of the sound quality comes from.
The screen has all sorts of adjustment, and the Maestro lets you turn your steering wheel controls into anything you want them to be pretty easily.
The Android Auto isn't as fast as on my wife's car, but it still works flawlessly.
The sound adjustment is insane.
I do miss having a nob to spin for volume adjustment, but it's not the end of the world.

I'd recommend this setup to anyone!
__________________
Corey - BSME
Thumper - '97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
Ares - '10 Rust-Free Family Hauler
 
Old 03-21-2018, 12:18 PM   #2
biggy238
 
biggy238's Avatar

Name: biggy238
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Just North of Wrong
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 7,962
So the pioneer has android auto for an OS?

I installed my HU strictly to run Viper4android. I'm not sure if the android auto can be rooted though.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
People tend to be tribal
05.5 Campanella White TDi Jetta 5spd 45.5MPG
-Little Sexy
'10 Silver F250 CCLB 4X4 5.4L Auto
-Janus
 
Old 03-21-2018, 01:28 PM   #3
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 3,581
Nope, they have their own OS/GUI, but like an OEM headunit, when you plug your phone in via USB, it'll automatically launch (side load kinda) Android Auto (or Apple CarPlay).

This unit does not mirror android like others, so you can't use apps on screen other than the approved ones. It does let you plug in FLAC and just about any format via USB and pump it out via internal amplification, 4V RCA to amps, or digitally to other components.

Is V4A still a thing? I thought they discontinued a while back?
__________________
Corey - BSME
Thumper - '97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
Ares - '10 Rust-Free Family Hauler
 
Old 03-21-2018, 01:59 PM   #4
biggy238
 
biggy238's Avatar

Name: biggy238
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Just North of Wrong
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 7,962
I'm still using it. I have no idea what state it is in. Making me feel dated now.

Sent from my XT1575 using Tapatalk
__________________
Quote:
People tend to be tribal
05.5 Campanella White TDi Jetta 5spd 45.5MPG
-Little Sexy
'10 Silver F250 CCLB 4X4 5.4L Auto
-Janus
 
Old 03-21-2018, 03:08 PM   #5
CorneliusRox
 
CorneliusRox's Avatar

Name: CorneliusRox
Title: Seasoned Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 3,581
ha ha if it works, I wouldn't sweat it.

We've got some calibrated mics at work for audio testing. I'm planning on snatching one for a weekend and tuning to a level output EQ at max volume and <3% THD. That should match everything as close as possible to what they were originally mixed to. Even though I know radio stations pump the bass up... Everything through my phone should be great though.
__________________
Corey - BSME
Thumper - '97 12V Michigan Rust Bucket
Ares - '10 Rust-Free Family Hauler
 
Closed Thread

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

 


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2006 - 2018, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com