Advertisement
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Home Who's Online Today's Posts HP Calculator CompD Gift Shop Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Competition Diesel.Com - Bringing The BEST Together > Tech Area- Dodge > Dodge Competition and Performance
Register Members List Timeslips EFI Live Library Invite Your Friends FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read

Dodge Competition and Performance General Dodge Competition and Performance Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-17-2018, 06:52 AM   #1
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Initial drop in RP

Looking at my logs in HP Tuners I am having a problem dropping rail pressure for a second as I launch from 25% to 100% throttle. I have been told to drill the feed port on the rail a little larger as my PPE dual pump kit just Ys into the stock feed location and is not a dual feed to the rail. I have also been told to adjust the FCA amperage I believe in my tuning, but I am unsure what to set it at... anyone have some suggestions?

I just have a hard time getting on top of my charger from under 20psi of boost, thought maybe getting some more pressure would help get it going as there is about 5000psi difference between my desired pressure and actual.

Fueling is:

125% over injectors
Drilled 6.7 feed tubes
PPE Dual pump kit. 10mm stroker on bottom, stock dmax pump up top.
Dual Airdog 165s
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 07:01 AM   #2
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
These are two different logs, where I changed the defueling limits for RPM, but if you look at the bottom row on both logs in green and blue lines you can see the initial drop in RP.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.

Last edited by SPEEDSHIFT; 07-17-2018 at 07:06 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 02:50 PM   #3
JWhite
 
JWhite's Avatar

Name: JWhite
Title: Trained monkey
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Central Ohio
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,176
You have the regulator minimum duty cycle set close to zero? You could try setting the voltage graph to zero on the last data point (at max fuel flow).

Have you logged the duty cycle to see if it commands a low value off the hit? Could be something to adjust in the pid tables too but that can be easy to screw up. There should be slow and fast gain adjustments.
__________________
GMC with a LiLLY
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 03:39 PM   #4
Orange Stroker

Name: Orange Stroker
Title: Rookie
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Feb 2018
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5
Are you running Stock DC Base map?
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 03:49 PM   #5
Dom_c13b

Name: Dom_c13b
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Freeport, Maine
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 103
Yea Duty Cycle base map is where I would start. The FCA Amperage will help on the big end when pressure is starting to drop but on the tip in, base DC will help.
__________________
06 SCLB. Built 48re, ATS Twin cp3, s369sxe, Fass 220, Hamilton 188/220, 110# springs, DDP 220's, Big valve head, .40 over, 12v rods, balanced rotating assembly. etc..
TenacityTuning@Yahoo.com
facebook.com/TenacityTuning
  Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2018, 04:27 PM   #6
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Okay, I will take a look at those tonight. Thanks everybody
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 03:09 PM   #7
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Okay, I have tried messing with the tuning and nothing has made a difference. Still has a 5-6000k psi drop when i first go to 100% throttle.

I am thinking about changing my dual pump kit to one that feeds the rail in two spots or using one of those flexible dual feed lines II sells.
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 06:52 PM   #8
Poulina
 
Poulina's Avatar

Name: Poulina
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Norcal
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 645
Probs won’t make a difference where/how many holes you feed the rail with. Lots of huge hp are single feeding 6.7 rails with much success, including me, except for the huge hp part

fwiw the updated fleece dual pump kit for a 6.7 uses the gear driven pump as the distribution block instead of two extra lines and a sensor block like you usually see in the ATS and old fleece kits, and just feeds the rail at the single stock location
__________________
2008 QCLB 6.8 48re Suncoast PCS, DDP supermentals, forcedinductions 467/87, Hamilton 188/220, Carrillos, studded mains w/stock girdle
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 07:34 AM   #9
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poulina View Post
Probs won’t make a difference where/how many holes you feed the rail with. Lots of huge hp are single feeding 6.7 rails with much success, including me, except for the huge hp part

fwiw the updated fleece dual pump kit for a 6.7 uses the gear driven pump as the distribution block instead of two extra lines and a sensor block like you usually see in the ATS and old fleece kits, and just feeds the rail at the single stock location
Maybe the 6.7 rail is the way to go then, it looks a little larger and the added volume should help with my issue... I really need that extra pressure off the line to get this charger lit.
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 01:40 PM   #10
paulb
 
paulb's Avatar

Name: paulb
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,661
What does the FCA amps drop to when you have the drop in rail pressure? In the data log does the curve of the FCA amps match the drop in rail pressure?
__________________
02 4x4 Auto Mach 6+'s, Drag Comp,Source Automotive Twins, Ultimate Transmission
05 2500 4x4 Auto 3.73 BBI 4's, Smarty Touch, Source Automotive Twins, F1 springs and Cam, Opie's bypass system, Mitusa, PPE Dual Fueler, Ultimate Transmission, Opie shafts,Isspro gauges
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 02:11 PM   #11
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulb View Post
What does the FCA amps drop to when you have the drop in rail pressure? In the data log does the curve of the FCA amps match the drop in rail pressure?
Ill take a look at it. Wouldnt it match the desired pressure?
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 02:26 PM   #12
PhillipF
 
PhillipF's Avatar

Name: PhillipF
Title: Diesel Enthusiast
Status: Here
Join Date: Apr 2015
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 120
I got some triple Cp3's that'll solve your problem.....lol
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 04:05 PM   #13
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhillipF View Post
I got some triple Cp3's that'll solve your problem.....lol
Man, if I could find someone to buy my dual pump kit I would buy those triples for sure.
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 06:00 PM   #14
paulb
 
paulb's Avatar

Name: paulb
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPEEDSHIFT View Post
Ill take a look at it. Wouldnt it match the desired pressure?
The ecm will continue to reduce the fca amps trying to maintain rail pressure. You would see this if you have a problem with your setup being able to have enough pressure/volume to met commanded rail pressure. If it can't maintain rail pressure the fca amps should end up very low.

If it's a tuning problem you will see the fca amps go to a set amount as the actual rail pressure continues to fall.

Posting a pic of the graphs like you did above including the fca amps would be best.

Paul
__________________
02 4x4 Auto Mach 6+'s, Drag Comp,Source Automotive Twins, Ultimate Transmission
05 2500 4x4 Auto 3.73 BBI 4's, Smarty Touch, Source Automotive Twins, F1 springs and Cam, Opie's bypass system, Mitusa, PPE Dual Fueler, Ultimate Transmission, Opie shafts,Isspro gauges
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 09:01 PM   #15
skilletky
 
skilletky's Avatar

Name: skilletky
Title: i love lamp
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: burlington, KY
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 342
Just out of curiosity, do you know the pressure from the airdogs to the hp pumps? Possible the airdogs pressure cant react fast enough with the fuel demand?
__________________
-01 2wd dually, 6x.016's, 188/220 cam, pee pumped, CPP hot street DV's, #5 plate, FASS220 ,stg3 snow performance, valair triple disk, 64 over 75, arp625's, 110 Springs,o ringed head,26* timing, redneck maxed 215 pump
-95 f250 xlt 7.3, ts6
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:43 AM   #16
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulb View Post
The ecm will continue to reduce the fca amps trying to maintain rail pressure. You would see this if you have a problem with your setup being able to have enough pressure/volume to met commanded rail pressure. If it can't maintain rail pressure the fca amps should end up very low.

If it's a tuning problem you will see the fca amps go to a set amount as the actual rail pressure continues to fall.

Posting a pic of the graphs like you did above including the fca amps would be best.

Paul
Gotcha, ill try that this weekend. Looking in my logger my options are:

FCA DC Actual
FCA DC Desired
FCA Current
FCA Volts

Which ones should I log?
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 06:47 AM   #17
SPEEDSHIFT
 
SPEEDSHIFT's Avatar

Name: SPEEDSHIFT
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 5,103
Quote:
Originally Posted by skilletky View Post
Just out of curiosity, do you know the pressure from the airdogs to the hp pumps? Possible the airdogs pressure cant react fast enough with the fuel demand?
I havent checked, I just feel there is more than enough supply volume/pressure with dual lift pumps with 8AN lines from a sump, but I guess you never know. I will put a gauge on them to see.
__________________
Bodie @sanglesnail
2003 2500 4x4 auto 6.75 @104
2004 2500 4x4 auto
2005 2500 4x4 auto


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snedge View Post
Anything stock is slow. That's why they invented money.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2018, 08:34 AM   #18
paulb
 
paulb's Avatar

Name: paulb
Title: Too Much Time
Status: Not Here
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Klamath Falls, OR
Member`s Gallery
Posts: 1,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPEEDSHIFT View Post
Gotcha, ill try that this weekend. Looking in my logger my options are:

FCA DC Actual
FCA DC Desired
FCA Current
FCA Volts

Which ones should I log?
Actual, desired, current.
__________________
02 4x4 Auto Mach 6+'s, Drag Comp,Source Automotive Twins, Ultimate Transmission
05 2500 4x4 Auto 3.73 BBI 4's, Smarty Touch, Source Automotive Twins, F1 springs and Cam, Opie's bypass system, Mitusa, PPE Dual Fueler, Ultimate Transmission, Opie shafts,Isspro gauges
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.

 


Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2006 - 2018, CompetitionDiesel.com
all information found on this site is property of www.competitiondiesel.com