Concrete floor in an existing pole barn

Bersaglieri

Ron Swanson's Brother
I've got an old 25'x35' pole barn and I'd like to pour a concrete floor in it. The barn looks like it was built by a one eyed gypsy so I'd rather not spend big money hiring someone to put a floor in it. I'm just fed up with the sand floor, it's getting in my vag and causing quality of life issues.

That being said I've only assisted folks doing concrete so I'm basically a novice. Sounds horrible, but I plan on searching youtube for instructional videos this week. I can get a few buddies to help, matter of fact one I think one of my buddies might have done some concrete work in his construction days. I'll have a truck bring in the concrete.

So where do I start? Should I try and do one big pour or use the poles to section it off and do three smaller pours. If I did the three, each would be 12'x25'.

With approximately a 60/40 sand/gravel floor, how involved should I get in preparing the base to pour? How would you recommend leveling the floor? Should I back fill everything to the base of the 2x6 footer?

I haven't checked yet, but how phucked am I if the building isn't level. Or at least the base board?

The barn doesn't have overhead doors but I have a pair I was thinking about putting in. Should I install those before the concrete?

I just decided to do this today so I'm sure I'll have more questions later. I'll get some pictures as well if anyone wants them.

Put your doors in first that will help u set your floor grade, I wouldn't worry about the building being straight just set your floor height fill with sand compact it and pour the mud.