Vband cac tubes on stock mounts

97rada

I am looking to run vbands on all of my cac pipes. Has anyone ran into problems with breaking welds. What bellows are people using ect. Wanting to not have problems with this setup.
Thanks
42d54a23cd20f928d0283123a995ed13.jpg

I would not V-band both sides of the pipe coming out of the turbo feeding the intercooler. You need some wiggle room, and that's why you might be breaking your welds. Just my opinion.

I'm not an expert in this area by any means but wouldn't you need solid engine mounts to do so? Not sure if bellows would allow enough misalignment otherwise.

Vibrant seems to be a popular high quality choice though.

I would not V-band both sides of the pipe coming out of the turbo feeding the intercooler. You need some wiggle room, and that's why you might be breaking your welds. Just my opinion.

Only reason I have couplers still. All of my aramid couplers seem to be holding up well.

I was planning on a bellow of some sort to take some of the abuse. Just want really secure tubes. Was thinking of a vband at the Cooler and a boot after the bend into the cooler

Were running a v band off the charger to a flex bellow with a boot off the intercooler.

Not done yet. Waiting on manifold. Lyn is the one who suggested this setup, I couldn't find a fancy vibrant clamp that I thought would work for me.

I vbanded the outlet on my secondary, 3" straight coupler off that to another stainless pipe and then to a 3-3.5" straight coupler. Been holding over 100psi that way. I switched both intercooler couplers to straights. Seemed to have solved my exploding 45*s.

Bellows help but they are far too stiff to count on them 100% IMO. Napa radiator hose, good clamps, and a strap is always a pretty dependable setup.

So why not go all the way with them? No more popped boots, and you already know how they work. I will agree on them being a pain to assemble though.