any new news on Extreme studs?

Sportster1208

I read a bunch of old threads about guys choosing to use the Extreme Studs vrs. ARP 625's. Anyone have any new info to add? Are they holding up ok? I guess its a little late to ask now being I ordered some but just wanted more insight.

They were a few issue with studs breaking during intial torquing. The threads in them are cut in, and not rolled in. I honestly think the ones I delt with, were maybe a machining flaw because they were breaking at like 80ft/lbs. But I wouldn't hesitate to run them in my truck if I had the money.

We had same issue. Broke during initial torque. Threads were not cut properly to the point where you could not run most of them into the block by hand. Very good customer service though.

phone

I just changed my order to 625's, im gonna do it right the first time. Thanks for the input

I've been running the Extremes for a couple of years now. They've been in and out about a half dozen times for various reasons. No issues at all, and they're torqued to 150lbs. Considering when I bought them, they were less than half the cost of the 625s, I'm very happy with them!!

When I got mine, Tony said that the threads on 12mm end were rolled, and the ones on the other end were cut. Maybe that's changed??

On the ones that broke, where did they break?

Last edited:
Good customer service. One of mine broke on install. Called and got a new set no problems. Only thing was I couldn't get the broke piece out. Broke going from 125 to 140.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've installed 2 sets. 625's from there on out. Great customer service, had one break on install, replaced without a problem.

I have a problem installing a product in a customers engine that breaks before it's completely installed, regardless of good customer service.