Compound Questions

rkadcock

I'm getting ready to install my compounds on my 12v but had a few questions. I'm running a "side by side" setup with a 63/68 over a s488 on a Steed Speed manifold with a JGS 40mm wastegate.

For the boost line which goes to the wastegate, I was originally going to weld a bung into the intercooler pipe right off the s300 but now that I have my s300 in my hands; the compressor housing is already tapped for a reference. Does it matter if I get a boost reference for the gate at the comp housing or the IC pipe? I wouldn't think it would matter since it goes through a regulator but since I've never used and external gate before I just wanted to check.

While on the subject of using an external gate. Do I need to run some kind of flexible bellow between the gate and the hot pipe? I was planning on it but the distance is so short that by the time I put the bellow on the hot pipe is already turning back to the front of the truck.

Lastly sin,ce I'm using a 3rd gen comp cover does anyone make a IC pipe from the turbo to the intercooler? I don't have any problems fabricating my own piping if not. I'm just strapped for time at the moment with school and finishing our FSAE car that the less time I have to build my own piping the better.

2015-03-17%2019.43.07_zpsnhhv6uez.jpg

All you need is a silicone 45 from the turbo to the inter cooler pipe. I had to loosen the clamp on the intercooler pipe by the ic and then put the coupler on the turbo and pipe, then go and tighten the other one up.

And you need to clock the compressor housing so the outlet is all the way down.

All you need is a silicone 45 from the turbo to the inter cooler pipe. I had to loosen the clamp on the intercooler pipe by the ic and then put the coupler on the turbo and pipe, then go and tighten the other one up.