duck and cover

I know this is an amature post but what causes this infamous nitrous POP?
Too much too soon
Too much overall
?????
Trying to expand my knowledge some.
Brandon

97' CTD said:
I know this is an amature post but what causes this infamous nitrous POP?
Too much too soon
Too much overall
?????
Trying to expand my knowledge some.
Brandon

no worries, I am still learning at this point. no such thing as a dumb question, I think.

yes, to your questions, basically it is too much nitrous too soon. The charger wasn't lit, either, I think that was at about 10 or 15 lbs of boost, when I wanted it to come on at 30 psi of boost. The dyno operator was still working on when to load the rollers, and we were playing with the settings on the progressive controller, too. Scared the chit out of me:doh:

Ya know I've heard too much too soon =boom, but I want to know the THEORY behind why it does it. I've asked a few people in the industry and nobody seems to know the physics behind it.....

Nitrous injected and heated to over 565F in the intake will split into nitrogen and oxygen. The pure oxygen with any sort of fuel in the environment will burn with explosive force. It's only happened to me where I've sat on the line spooled for too long. That kills turbos.

Nitrous fireballs out the exhaust are the same function. An excessive amount of nitrous and a deceleration condition leads to a fuel and oxygen-rich condition in the exhaust. Same boom with a pretty effect. Unless there's turbine pinwheels flying out too. Been there, done that too.

Last edited:
basically nitrous is air....dense air. So when you get on the throttle, before the charger is lit up, you are dumping unburnt fuel out of the tail pipe....if the exhaust temps are hot enough, and you have the excess fuel in the exhaust, and too much nitrous.....then boom you get combustion in the exhaust.