P.o.s. 6.0

DEEREMAX

Since I'm a salesman for a Deere dealership, they gave me a company truck. '05 6.0 eclb 2wd. It had 238,000 when i got it in august of '10. Everything was fine for a couple days til i put a front end loader thru the back glass, $2200 there. But about 4 months ago it started losing power and pouring black smoke from take off then then the turbo would light and it was gone like a scalded a$$ ape. Took it in, they "cleaned" the EGR valve. got it back and it was good for a week or so but still gutless, pouring white to black smoke on take off. Took it back and they replaced the EGR valve, EGR cooler, radiator, intercooler, turbo, and installed a new intake because it was cracked...$9000 (I tried telling my boss it wasn't worth fixing it but he insisted we fix it). Well it ran great for a few weeks, but still at start up it puffs white and if you don't let it warm up and idle for 10-15 mins it just falls on its face. After its warm it runs like a champ, but until then it just sounds like a sick dog. Its now got 278,000 on the odometer. Anyone got an idea whats doing on here? I'm not a ford person so i haven't a clue. Sorry for the novel.

Last edited:
A bad FICM would most likely start/run fine when cold and lose power/shut down when the motor warms up. By your description it sounds like tired injectors.

It doesn't matter if its 30 degrees or 80 degress outside, it starts rough and is gutless until it warms up. No mods, its all stock. Mechanic at the shop we took it to said the engine had been apart sometime before, because you could see socket marks on alot of the bolts.

The $2200 was for more than just a rear window, it got the cab and the bed as well.

DSCF0343.jpg