02 questions?

Mudn_1

Sweet Home
I have found an 02 (Stock truck) 6 speed 4x4 in good shape for a good price with 100,000miles!

first, the truck was about two quarts low on oil!?? we added oil and cranked it cold (no smoke), could it be a leak or just not enough put in? Or could it burnin that much oil between changes which it is ready to change!!

Second, The water pump was changed recently, do these go out often or is there another problem? could the engine be damaged from this and how could i tell?

this truck is in pretty good shape overall it just needs some TLC!! also there are no codes on the PCU or ECU!

any help would be greatly appreciated, and any other problems i might look for too

Well I have never used a carfax before and may never, but say for instance the insurance company fixed your last truck and you sold it not telling the guy who bought it that it was wrecked (not that you would do that but some people do). Imagine the look on his face if he did a history report later and found that.

Low oil might have just been an underfill by the last person who changed it. And the water pump's on these trucks rarely go out. I'm on my stocker at 150k miles.

Wouldn't worry to much about the water pump, they will make it 500k or 50k, just depends on how drunk the guy building it got the night before :D

Oil, potential issue, find out who did the last service on the truck and when. If it's leaking that much it'll be onvious where it's coming from after a short drive, and if it is leaking I'd lay money on the oilpan gasket :bang

Carfax, according to Andy, is not worth a dayum. I've never used it so I can;t say one way or the other.

depending on the price some of those little things can be an easy fix that knocks some coin off the price when you negotiate. I like my 02, but may get a 3rd gen if I ever get a second truck.