2.6 vs 3.0 what class to start with?

BigRed02

Environmental polluter
Okay me and my dad have talked about it and talked about it and we cant decide what direction we want to go. So im posting it here for your guys opinions. I want to know what you guys think about building a truck for either class and which would be more fun and less expensive (because pulling is cheap :hehe:). And post how you got into pulling the class you do if you want! :thankyou2:

I Agree with Weston, I've been building mine for about 3 years now almost, even at 2.5 is not cheap at all to be competitive, i can only afford a part every few months lol... but if you have lots and lots of money and time build a 2.6 truck...

consider 10-25k in the motor, 3-8k in the driveline, 1-3k in a charger, 6k in all the miscellaneous... it's not cheap... how competitive you are comes down to if you're either extremely intelligent with new ideas or how deep your pockets are, mostly both...

Cheaper to buy a pulling truck than to build one, consider that too...

Northwest Ohio, even workstock you'll need 800hp at the wheels, 2.5 1000hp.

Find what class that majority of the pulls around you offer. Start there.

If it was me. I'd build a 2.5 truck, then work to jump to 3.0. But that's my $.02

If I had it to do over I would start out 3.0. I'm 2.6 now and wanting to go to 3.0. But have a bunch of money spent on driveline parts. That I now have to spend again to go 3.0. Just start with open driveline and be done with it

You also don't need to keep a truck in your garage building it until it's a top runner. You don't need to start with duals and a ported runner intake head. What's the fun in that? I put together my truck in 3 months this year and I've had an awesome time going to the pulls and learning something new every hook. Personally seeing something sit I'm my shop for more than a year would kill me. These trucks are never finished, so why try to start with the end product?