235hp vs 325hp specs.

DWitcher

Dr. Frankenstein
Hey guy's I just bought a 03 235 hp yesterday and yes I'm a complete noob to the common rail so here's my first stupid question. What's the difference between the 235hp and the later 325hp? Is it programing or injectors too? Is there any difference in the cylinder head? Thanks.

I think the 03' had more than 235hP...my 02 HO was 245. But not sure the difference anyway, so can't help ya...

DWitcher said:
Hey guy's I just bought a 03 235 hp yesterday and yes I'm a complete noob to the common rail so here's my first stupid question. What's the difference between the 235hp and the later 325hp? Is it programing or injectors too? Is there any difference in the cylinder head? Thanks.

I was under the impression that the 03 was the 305HP/555TQ motor????

Going from 305 back to 235 HP just for a Cali version seems kinda Extreme!!!

The 03 had 3 options for HP ratings. High Output: 305hp. 49 state Standard Output 250hp then a California 235hp(real turd).
What I'd like to know is what would it take to convert the 235hp to a H.O. 305hp rating?

According to some there is a differences with the 03-04 valve train verses the 04.5 and up. The later valve train is made from a more resilient metal dealing better with heat and abuse.

Last edited:
What are the differences between the turbo's other than the electronic vs mechanical wastegates?

DWitcher said:
The 03 had 3 options for HP ratings. High Output: 305hp. 49 state Standard Output 250hp then a California 235hp(real turd).
Correct and I believe they all had the same injectors. The 325/600 was introduced in 04.5 and it had a different nozzle pattern.
There is a thread on the subject over on DTR:Link
Those guys are big Smarty and Quad fans so you see a lot of people over there pushing them but it may not be your best option.

Great link, Thanks. I see talk about the S.O. not having the 48re auto. Is this true?

KBennet, why would a Smarty or Quad not my best option?

Last edited: