5.9 vs 7.3?

sasdranger

Wannabe
My rangers got past the point of friendly driving on the steet, it more or less really sucks lol. I'm kinda new to diesels, i know some things about them but for the most part I'm a noob.

So, its time to find a tow rig/ new dd.

I'm looking at the 99-02 F250s, but also kinda want a Cummins.. don't know what years though.. I'm also pretty set on an auto tranny for this truck. I'm looking in the $10-12k range.

I know both should get about the same mileage correct? 15-17 city, 20-22 highway unloaded, about 12 loaded..

I don't intend on hauling more than the ranger, maybe 2 rigs on a 5th wheel at some point for a trip to colorado or something. Nor do I *plan* on building the truck.. but i know thats a load of BS, so the limits of a stock block/internals won't be too crucial.. at first i want to straight pipe it, get a mild tuner, and get tranny temp and pyro gauges...

So, considering what I've said, what would you buy? a 7.3 or 5.9? If a 5.9 12v or 24v? Also, which is easier to work on?

More reliable? I'm still young so i know I'll be hot rodding it a bit but I'm gonna try to keep my foot out of it for the most part..

I like the interior of the Ford better, and the crew cab...but that wont completely sell me, after all it is a truck.

Last edited:
Go with a 12V Cummins... most reliable diesel you can get and the easiest to work on. Parts are generally cheaper than the 7.3 also. $10-12K should get you a pretty nice one too.

Remember that there was a switch mid-year in 98 to the 24v. So watch it when you looking at the truck to see if its a 12v or 24v.

Yes, i would add probably better. Remember if you do get a 12v to tab the dowell pin and try to stay away from the 5 speeds.