Cat on a 99 CTD?

AMMO22

BANNED
Hey folks, sorry for all the sudden questions on the 24V, but I'm new to the details of it. I feel like a newbie all over again.

Does a 99 24V have a cat on it (in stock form)?

AMMO22 said:
Hey folks, sorry for all the sudden questions on the 24V, but I'm new to the details of it. I feel like a newbie all over again.

Does a 99 24V have a cat on it (in stock form)?

Converter in the exhaust?

Not that I ever saw:st:

Then how do the older Cummins comply with the emissions laws (not that I like them one bit)?

Diesels were not on the same schedule as Gassers....

I think 03 was the year, hence the emergence of the Common Rail.

Here is what the AZ dept of enviromental quality says.

All 1967 and newer diesel powered vehicles registered within the emissions control areas of metro Phoenix (Area A) and Tucson (Area B) are required to be emissions tested annually. The only exception is for apportioned vehicles, which are commercial vehicles that are licensed in multiple states.

Diesel emissions testing in Pima County and for light-duty (8,500 lbs GVW and less) vehicles in Maricopa County consists of loading the vehicle on a dynamometer and measuring the opacity of the exhaust plume. The measured opacity must not exceed the established maximum. In Pima County the maximum allowable is 30 percent opacity.

My 99 didn't come with one. It had a resonator right before the muffler. You'll pass no problem, 30 percent is a pretty liberal opacity level.

I've heard they check for the cat, but if they didn't come with them from the factory, it should be exempt from that portion.

I'll probably have to keep the injectors on the conserative side huh?

Naw, I think a even a dirty 200 hp injector will see close to 40, so anything below that should be fine. I run Don's Mach 4.5s I wouldn't be afraid to go through a snap throttle test.

You can always borrow a Smarty and use the 1/2 power option to pass any opacity test regarless of injector choice.