Complete noob... Guess I've turned to the dark side

Josh40601

Well gents, I finally decided I would like a diesel truck. I have been looking on Craigslist and locally since November, and have found nothing. Thanks to another forum (PBB) I stumbled upon this one. I'm sure most virgins dive in asking a **** ton of useless questions answered by 300 other threads, I will do my best to not do this.

First off, I don't own a diesel truck yet. I'm in the market now, and have narrowed down what I'm looking for. Mainly because of this site.

I have heard many good things about all the 3/4 and 1 ton option trucks, but I am looking for a good looking tow rig. So main concerns are fuel mileage and dependability.

The tow rig I have now is a 02 gas HD 4x4 that tows my explorer with no issues. Other than fuel. I'm averaging 8 mpg around 70 mph. On a 400 mile round trip, that adds up real quick.

So the setup I think I have decided on is a Ford or Chevy truck, with a cummins 6bt and slush box. I figure with a couple add ins like exhaust, timing, programmer, and intake, it will allow plenty of power for my needs, and still allow me to get 16+ mpg.

I will be digging through Some builds, learning from others, and hopefully make my purchase from the site.

Good lord sorry about the mileage my huge truck gets 20 mpg towing 32,000 pounds about 26 unlaiden ithink your on the right page with the 6bt hella fuel efficient yet still has the power mine only has a max speed of 80 "gears and tires" not men't to tow 4.56 and 37" tires best of luck

Thanks boss! Those numbers are right on track with what I'm looking at.

Any info on your rig? Other than tires and gears that is.

I'm curious... and don't take this the wrong way...

but why not a Dodge with a Cummins in it? you could lay down $10k and have a great tow rig tomorrow vs. months and months of building

Ah, I knew this question would pop up.