Detroit Locker Noises

chriswelters

Just a kid
2004 f-250. 10.5in rear end. I just got my 4.30 gears with a detroit locker in the rear. Everything seems fine besides when the truck is coasting then hit the throttle it clunks real bad, and when the throttle being pressed and then cut it clunks. The installer said that its within .006-.008 and the paint for the ring and pinion are both in the center. So he is saying that the backlash is right. To me it seems like the backlash is messed up, but I'm no mechanic. If anyone can shed some light or needs more info please chime in.

There is a chance that since the lockers are in the truck now that there is a clunk in everything from the transfer case all the way back. My transfer case move up and down when you throttle it. would latter bars or something like that help with the flex so it wouldn't clunk? Some help please.

When i first put a Detroit in the jeep and it locked up it was loud, so loud i pulled over to see if anything broke.
It's normal, you have to learn how to drive it now. Generally coasting in a curve then applying the throttle will make it bang.

6-8 is a bit tight. I set mine at 11 and the paint may be in the center on the drive side but is most likely out there on the coast side which most people don't check or do not know how to correct it. It took me an extra hour to get them both in the correct pattern.

Chris Detroit's have some extra slack in them, been running one for close to 100K now!

Jim

Thats just one of many noises you are going to be hearing, a detroit is a whole other animal.

Do you think i should have him put it a little looser? It just sounds horrible that's why i was worried. It sounds like something going to break. Can you guys describe somehow the sounds you hear when getting on the gas from coast? How warm should the diff cover feel?