Edge Comp Problems

AMMO22

BANNED
I got an Edge Comp for the wife's 99 24V. Everything hooked up easy but it doesn't have the punch I thought it would. It very very slightly smokes on 5x5. I can't tell a big difference in 1x1 and 5x5. Is it possible I made some mistakes? What should I look at to possibly make it right.

Bare with me folks, I'm still new with the Cummins side. Thanks

Last edited:
Check all your connections, especially the tap into the VP44. Thats the connection that will seperate 1x1 from 5x5. As long as the box is good, my money is on the tapped wire not getting a good connection. Also, its been awhile since I installed mine, is there a ground to connect? If so, check that too. Good Luck

yea if it isnt smoking check the wire tap connection. TST has a nice wire tap connection that i use (posi-tap i think), i believe all it is is a wire tester but it makes tapping the wire a breeze. did you tap the one closest to the head/block? soldering into the pump wire is the best avenue but i have only had a bad connection once, and it was easily fixed. remember scotchlocks are a pretty shoddy way of connecting in, either solder or use a wire tapper from a vendor in my opinion. also if i remember correctly the wire only has a couple strands so dont spin or twist your connection to cut through the insulation and you definitely dont want to cut the wire if soldering or connecting.

If the comp is like my juice, you can take the end off the box and start the truck. If the pump wire it tapped properly, the LEDs on the end of the circuit board will be scrolling back and forth. Check the trouble shooting section in your manual. I would imagine the comp is the same. That way you can test it without pulling that dang wire off and on....that sucks.