Heat exchanger and Twins

Roy 31

Dont know JS!
I am going to putting on a set of twins and was reading the directions:hehe: I know but, Im new to this! And it said to get rid of the factory heat exchanger and install a new trans cooler. Just wonder what others have done? Used?

Move it to the front crossmember:
enginefront.jpg

right about there -----------------------------------^^^^^^

bnraodn.

i fit my bht3e in beside the factory cooler. it wasn't real easy, but it wasn't that tough either.

You can use a plate type cooler and mount it elsewhere on the frame or if theres room in the front.... just make sure it has enough flow through it (internally)

RacinDuallie said:
You can use a plate type cooler and mount it elsewhere on the frame or if theres room in the front.... just make sure it has enough flow through it (internally)

That's what I did. I mounted a plate type cooler under the pickup with a electric fan. For what I do it works out better then the heat exchanger. With the heat exchanger the tranny fluid won't get down below the temp of the coolant. I like to start passes with the tranny temp at 140. Everytime... The heat exchanger is way more efficient then the plate type cooler, but if I am getting hot lapped (often happens in the final rounds), then I can stop at the cool down box and spray a little water on the plate type cooler, and it cools the tranny fluid right down.

Paul

paulb said:
That's what I did. I mounted a plate type cooler under the pickup with a electric fan. For what I do it works out better then the heat exchanger. With the heat exchanger the tranny fluid won't get down below the temp of the coolant. I like to start passes with the tranny temp at 140. Everytime... The heat exchanger is way more efficient then the plate type cooler, but if I am getting hot lapped (often happens in the final rounds), then I can stop at the cool down box and spray a little water on the plate type cooler, and it cools the tranny fluid right down.

Paul