Help me find a powerful light weight diesel

ExoticHunter

While I am not new to building high performance vehicles, I am new to the world of performance diesels. I hope to learn enough from the experienced members of Competition Diesels to power my next project car with a diesel motor.

Of course the first decision to make is which motor to begin with?

What little factual information I have found so far has me leaning toward selecting a Duramax LBZ or LMM. Please correct me if I am wrong, but the Duramax appears to be the lightest offering by the big three, with the best aftermarket support.

Where you guys can really enlighten me is by sharing your knowledge about what foreign diesel V8 or V10 motors I should consider.

Most importantly please list any lighter than the Duramax, and list any with an aluminum block.

Thank you

I'd go with the DMax, but if you're open to forging new ground, these kick ass and would be awesome in an unlimited funds repower:

VW V10 TDI

4.9/5.0 V10 TDI PD 230-258kW

This '4.9' or '5.0' badged V10 TDI diesel engine is only used in Volkswagen Passenger Cars 'premium' models. At its launch in the Volkswagen Phaeton, it became the most powerful diesel engined car in the world. A heavily modified dry sump version was used in an LMP1 Lola sports car to compete in the 2004 Le Mans under a Caterpillar badge. "24 Heures du Mans". Perkins.com. Perkins Engines Co. Ltd. 16 March 2006. Retrieved 29 September 2009.

identification
parts code prefix: 07Z
engine configuration & engine displacement
90° V10 engine, Turbocharged Direct Injection (TDI) turbodiesel; 4,921 cubic centimetres (300.3 cu in), bore x stroke: 81.0 by 95.5 millimetres (3.19 in × 3.76 in), stroke ratio: 0.85:1 - undersquare/long-stroke, 492.1 cc per cylinder, 88 millimetres (3.46 in) cylinder spacing, compression ratio: 18.0:1, water-cooled alternator
cylinder block & crankcase