High Performance Head Bolts?

MacbooknMyTruck

Waiting and Wanting
I read in this article (2005 Ford F350 Power Stroke Horsepower &Torque - Diesel Performance - Four Wheeler Magazine
) that i needed to get new high performance head bolts for my 03 6.0 if I have any mods running over 100 hp. I'm going to be rnning a SCT SF3 (150 hp gain), a 4" MBRP exhaust (15 hp gain), and an AEM Brute Force Intake (20 hp gain). Do I really need to get upgraded head bolts? I'm new to the diesel world and I can't afford to have a high dollar problem like a head gasket failure. Can anyone help? I will only run the 150 hp gain maybe 5 times a month, but I'll run the economy 50 hp gain everyday.

Most of us recommend head studs for stock trucks up to heavily modified trucks. Our head bolts just plain suck. Now that being said, I drove 80k and didn't have a problem. Most of that time, I was running a programmer and exhaust.

Depending on where you live, you may also, want to consider an egr delete kit.

How hard are they to install and how much do they run? I live in sweet home ALABAMA! So will I have to get an EGR delete kit? I would prefer nor because I'm trying to save $$$. But anyways, what is an EGR delete kit? What does that do and how hard are they to install and how much will that run me? And if I get an EGR delete kit, will I still have to get upgraded head bolts?

Last edited:
And remember, my Powerstroke is a 2003. Seems like the 03's have a totally different engine setup than any other 6.0l.

03's have some differences between the other 6.0's but they are still a 6.0.

They are a pain in the butt to install. Unless you are comfortable working on your engine, I would pay someone to do it.