lift & hauling.

ChaseN

Jobless/Truckless
ok well i've got a wild hair to do a lift.

anyone have a 5 or 6" and still pull a gooseneck?

i do an average for 26-28k lb loads, would the lift handle it? (it will be airbags in the rear)

if it cannot handle hauling i will start using my 05 CTD that has been parked for about 2 months haha.

anyone have any pics of their dodge with about 12" on 39.5's on 20's?

You'll have issues at that height with 26-28K behind you.

Most GN trailers don't have enough neck height to allow you to level the trailer out while still providing neck to bed clearance.

Also, what tires do yo have in mind that are rated heavy enough?

toyo m/t load range E. i KNOW they can handle it.

as far as the neck not being high enough, no problem, i can build new necks for my trailers. i am a certified welder (live gas lines, oil, etc).

i just didnt want to get it up there about 6" on 35's or 37's and not be able to still pull without too much strain on my drivetrain.

35s aren't too bad. Though they do cause quite a bit of RPM drop between the gears.

37s will introduce a boat load more strain and I wouldn't recomend them with towing in mind.

I'd like to see what you've done to the g-neck when done. I have heard alot about just stock Ford and Dodge 4X4's being to tall for some horse trailers. Seen back tires on tandems blow out on the highway couple of times, and seen one trailer that the front tires wouldn't even touch the ground (4'' lifted Ford).
Sucks to have a $40,000 diesel that you can't even tow with, but seems to be becoming the norm.
Even with the g-neck rebuilt, that sounds like alot of wieght on a 5'' lift.

Sounds like a :badidea: to me.

Good luck, hope someone else has an answer that can help.