Need advice for my 250 build (engines)

Pbguy420

Ok guys I've got a 2001 f250 7.3l 4x4 that ive put a bit of work into and am not fully happy with where I'm at.

My tranny is drivable but shot and I can't put much power to the ground due to slippage in every gear. I've got 227k on it. Engine SEEMS ok, I'm no mechanic, the only code I'm showing is an injector circuit contribution problem in 8th cylinder and I'm thinking bad injector...

Since im looking at a new tranny (bts) I want to debate my engine options now while I have some money....

I want a truck that's a dd, that I can take to the track and perform well 500-600 hp, but also be able to tow about 5k trailer without problems and also be able to have fun offroad.. I know it will likely not be a Baja truck any time soon but I'm more into running trails than mudding and the front end of this girl is HEAVY, when I hit hard bumps....

Since im going to have to build whatever engine I drop in I'm looking at my options. I know the 7.3 is reliable as hell but it's heavy and expensive to build power on... I've got about 12k to put in right now, 4500 for a bts tranny and the rest on my build... Advice between 6.0 or maybe 5.9 cummins or building my 7.3 and further beefing suspension would be appreciated.... I want the best of all worlds so I need to build her right....

Here's what she's got so far

Dp tuner
5 in exhaust no muffler
6637 filter
Isspro gauges
Icon 4"lift icon springs front b code swap rear
Toyo mt 35"s

Lots of newer 250 parts for looks
Mirrors, lights etc

I don't want to buy a new truck cause mine looks just the way I want to with all the small odds and ends and I don't want to worry about that on a new truck

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

12v conversion or find a forged 7.3 long block. Either option you're going to be spending some coin for 500 ponies.

Do the 5.9 12v and don't look back. You can make your HP goals with an almost stock motor.

First look and see what rods are in yours.