Need help??? Best of the Best for a 2003 ford f250 6.0 powerstroke, whats the best?

FordPowerstroke

I am fairly new to the diesel world with only owning my truck for a grand total of about 8 months.

To start I own a 2003 ford f250 superduty 6.0 diesel with somewhere around 170,000 miles on it. Everything is stock on the truck besideds the exhaust system which is either a 4 or 5 inch and what I've put in and on it being a new tool box rear bucket seats and an audio system... that puts me now into the engine and performance.

Only problem that I know of at the moment is there is a leak with the anti freeze in between the v of the block. I would like that fixed however not at the price the mechanic wanted (close to $900). Shook his hand, never went back.

The fuel mileage is 11.6 miles to the gallon. It's emptying out my account every time I take it to the gas station and have begun looking for other methods of fuel. (Bio-diesel and direct fried oil) any thoughts? Ideas? or anything to help would be great.

Thanks

Check the small blue hose that comes off the EGR cooler for the leak. I bet you can do all the work yourself to get it fixed.

your truck might still have the old orange colored hose, they have since upgraded to the blue one. its very easy to change, whoever told you 900 is a scam artist. there are 2 torx that hold down a small housing that connects to one side of that hose, after you drain the coolant down unbolt the torx bits, rotate the hose so the notch lines up with the arrow on the housing, wiggle the housing up until its free and then pull the hose off, put the new one in and reverse the process.

I've looked and looked and I can't seem to find this hose you guys are talking about. However the truck hasn't leaked in a long while, any thoughts as to why it would just stop leaking? I live in Arkansas and the avg temp has been up in the 80s this past week (I don't know if that plays an effect with summer on the way.)