Need some ideas

Smashed96gt

I just traded my '03 Duramax to a co-worker of mine and got a '93 W250 Cummins and my old '93 Ranger. The Duramax was my first diesel so I'm not that experienced with them but I learn quick.

I've seen how to upgrade the VE pump, how to modify the fuel pin, change the governor spring, and bump the timing.

My goals are to make it faster than my duramax was with a 100 tune on it. The best it ever ran was 15.0 @ 92 but the 4wd didnt work and I didnt want to build boost on the line.

Is there anything else that I would need to do to achieve my goal besides those cheap/easy things?

Eventually I want to do injectors and an upgraded turbo and I know I will have to upgrade the trans in the future too.

Which leads to my next question. What trans do I have? I've heard different things from different people and I dont trust any of them. One guy even swore up and down that it had an Allison behind it.

Thanks in advance.
Bill

I'd put pink fuzzy dice in it and a pink Browning steering wheel cover and some spinner hubcaps and call it a day.

Or you could search a little...

3 speed or 4 speed tranny?

Pink dice and a pink Browing steering wheel cover huh? That just might work. It would definately make my truck the hottest one in town.

I'm gonna say it's a 4 speed because it has the O/D off button.

You'd be big pimpin then for sure!

You've got a 47RH then. Build it with billet and 15s won't be hard.

I think I'd need the license plate to read FRESH before I would be pimpin though.

Approx how much does it run to build a 47rh with billet?

To have the Allison in the Dmax built it cost about 3800 to hold 600 at the wheels. But I never got to run it as I really couldn't afford the truck payment, getting the trans built, replacing the t-case, and doing head gaskets and studs.

Your truck has the A518, also known as the 46RH, its a four speed auto with NO lockup convertor.