New to 6.0L and wanting Mods

jyarber

Whats up fellas.. Been a member of fordtruckworld for a while and have heard a bunch about this board so I figured Id come check it out. Well here we go.. Im not new to powerstrokes but Im new to the 6.0L. Got a 2004 and wanting to start the mods. So far Im going to go with the basics. MBRP 5" Turbo back exhaust (straight pipe). AFE Stage 2 xp intake system and then SCT programmer. Now I have been reading a lot lately about this sct and it seems to be the baddest on the market. Now as far as the tuner goes whos the best one to buy from. I want the most hp possible just like all of yall but I also like be kinda safe about it and keep my tranny shifting nice as long as possible. I know when you buy the sct that it comes with 3 files of your choice. I was curious what the hp settings of tow, race, looney and extreme are. Ill be installing the banks intercooler kit also to try and pick up a little extra hp and keep those egt's down. 1400F is about what most of yall run when WOT for a long period of time right? Whats the danger zone that you dont want to reach on the egts?

Without starting a flame war, I think just about any tuner that has been doing it for a while will do you right. You just want to be clear on what you want to do withthe truck up front. You can get the EGT's high for short periods of time without damage, it is long sustained temps that melt stuff. Welcome to the site man!

jyarber said: