OKie noob 70ford/cummins swap

T.Yeager

My name is tyler yeager. I'm from oklahoma. I have a 1970 ford f100 with a 302 gas motor. i have had the truck for 10 yrs, but it has sat for 5 in my shop. i have recently decided to do a cummins swap. I'm incredibly green when it comes to ford/diesel swaps, but i'm a pro and using search and not making redundant posts. i also went 2 years to a local vocational diesel school. i dont work on diesels now, but have a descent base knowledge. i have also done moderate chassis mods and been to a small welding school. i have a descent knowledge in forced induction, and tuning from a previous import building life. working on semis and imports has left me with many physical resources i need. i hope to acquire some of the knowledge from this site i need to get started on my project... any starter advise or similar builds would be much appreciated! ill lay out a list of goals, and try to upload some pics.

the only link i can find is super old, but i'll paste it.. old ford with 20s - sapulpa, Oklahoma

-tig welded chromoly tube suspension? wall thickness? link?
-ft. straight axle convers. need to research airride or not? disc brakes. 6-10" lift. 8lug 18's or so.
-cummins swap. 12/24 valve? man trans? tcase? rearend?
-either boxxed frame or 3/4, 1 ton frame swap.
-tire size??
-BIG turbo(s) when chassis and running gear are built enough.
-the truck has near flawless paint, but it WILL be tearin up some mud, trails, and rocks wherever i feel froggy!

i have alot of searching to do!!

I'm with Scott! 2wd would be awesome!

I'm in Sapulpa by the way, and welcome to CompD!