Question cams

12valvetater

I currently have east coasts street/towing cam. I didn't know the right question to ask when I bought it and I haven't been able to get the specs from them. I'm confused on the differences between your cam and what I have. Mine is a regrind, I know you don't like regrinds. Mine also doesn't have a bolt on gear. When do you need a bolt on gear? I'm still really new to the game but with my engine going down the other week I'll have lots of time to maybe redo what I've done any do it right this time.

Regrinds in and of themselves are ok. No problem there. The problem lies in the fact that there are numerous options on lobe shape and lift. With all of the options it is easy to get into the softer part of the cam when reshaping it. THis is a bad thing, and will lead to premature cam failure.

I only sell new cast billets, so that I can keep the bse circle and the cam as a whole as large as possible. This allows us to keep the surface of the cam as hard as possible which reduces wear. As far as how we differ functionally, as stated above, there are numerous shapes and sizes of cam lobes. While most agree that more aggressive ramps, more duraion and higher lift are all needed, There is a great deal of difference in how different companies cams look. It all comes down to engine theory and experience each cam grinder has.