Real World Injector advice for 3rd Gen....

JacktheBear3

Enthusiast
I've been told, that there is a limit to injectors in a 3rd gen where you will begin to lose the power gain due to the rail being drained. I don't own a 3rd gen so I have no first hand experience....

So the question is: What injectors have you run to get max power out of 3rd gen without the dreaded rail drain ?

- or -

At what point did you reach the point of diminished return?

W

On a stock CP3, 90hp DDP injectors work great wether you use a lift pump or not. My 8040 pound dually with no aftermarket lift pump trapped 103 in the quarter, while my 06 2500 trapped 112 with the stock cp3 and airdog lift pump.

JacktheBear3 said:
I've been told, that there is a limit to injectors in a 3rd gen where you will begin to lose the power gain due to the rail being drained. I don't own a 3rd gen so I have no first hand experience....

So the question is: What injectors have you run to get max power out of 3rd gen without the dreaded rail drain ?

- or -

At what point did you reach the point of diminished return?

W

as long as you upgrade the cp3 or add dual cp3's, you will never drain the rail no matter the injector size.

973604x4 said:
as long as you upgrade the cp3 or add dual cp3's, you will never drain the rail no matter the injector size.

I know this.... but I wanted to know the point at which this happens for future needs.... I have resisted selling customers injectors due to rail pressure drop. I want to sell more sticks so I'm needing to know.

You can run a 90hp injector at most on a stock cp3 and still allow some tuning, but I don't know why you would want to buy injectors for that level of mods.

On my old setup, i could drain the rail to 0 with stock injectors. It's all about tuning the fueling.

973604x4 said:
You can run a 90hp injector at most on a stock cp3 and still allow some tuning, but I don't know why you would want to buy injectors for that level of mods.