Sorry I was so late

gstanfield

Are we there yet?
Well, my name is George and I've been wanting a cummins since the first time I heard one. I finally got one today. I traded my V10 superduty even for a 97 12V automatic dodge. I wanted the manual, but havn't found one and the deal was too sweet to pass up. I know the tranny has it's bad points (ok, it has a reputations of sucking around here) but I have faith that it'll treat me right. My primary goals for the truck are the following.

Do mods to increase life, milage (primary concern) and lastly power. I want to increase the efficiency of the engine so I can make more power and get better milage at the same time, but when the decision somes down to power or milage, milage wins every time as I travel a lot.

given a $1,000 initial budget, where would you start on modifying this truck? I've been told to get a commander for the tranny, but I'm all ears at this point. I am a very competent mechanic on bikes and gas engines, but have very little experience with diesel.

thanks ahead of time for any and all help, I'll be posting here a bit. I was steered here by my good friend partsguy662, but don't hate me for that ;)

Thanks,
George

First off welcome to the site

gstanfield said:
Do mods to increase life, mileage (primary concern) and lastly power. I want to increase the efficiency of the engine so I can make more power and get better mileage at the same time, but when the decision somes down to power or mileage, mileage wins every time as I travel a lot.

Mods Don't necessarily increase life of the engine ...but the happy factor is pegged when you add Mods to the truck.. as far as fuel millage?? You will have to get one of the Dodge guys to give there opinion on that.

gstanfield said: