Starting with throttle, miss around 2800rpms, wont go into gear

99GreenCummins

That guy....
Ok, having issues with brothers puller, I'm no pump expert by any means.

Started after first pull of year, truck was fine, made one pass, then drove around pits and went to make 2nd pass, got off line, couldn't get traction (mud), truck shut down when let off pedal and wouldn't restart. Got home next day, ran fine, idle a little low, adjusted throttle linkage and all good.

Pull 2 weeks later, truck drove around pits and just fine, went to back into sled and died. Had to hold pedal to get to move. Made pass, truck died at end again and wouldn't restart, pulled on to trailer, fired next morning just fine.

I did a little reading and asking, thought that governor springs were loose. Tried tightening them up tonight and truck idled higher but still required pedal to start. Adjusted idle down go 1500 or so by the linkage and throttle stop. Issue is though, it won't go into gear(auto) without killing truck instantly. And if you try to free rev truck, it does not want to rev over 2800 rpms. It starts spitting and sputtering, throws flame out stack. Doesn't matter how you apply throttle.

Did I go wrong way with springs? I tightened them both up 5 clicks. Could they be unbalanced?

As I said, I'm no genius on these pumps and want to learn.......and hoping to hook tomorrow night.

Flames out the stack indicates late timing. I've also seen trucks die when put into gear when the idle springs were weak in the pump. Replaced the idle springs with ones from another pump and it fixed that guys issue.
Do you know what the fuel pressure is doing? And is it still running a shutoff solenoid for the pump? Solenoid could be getting hot and dropping the lever and after it sits overnight and cools it works fine again.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk