suggestions on mods for my new 12 valve

XNsXdrivR

Hi guys, just bought a 1997 12 valve, 2wd automatic last week. Its the 1st truck, not too mention the 1st diesel i've ever owned. Its my daily driver, but I want build the truck for occasional drag/stop light racing. I have no intention to tow anything or offroad. I've set my goal for my truck to hit low to mid 13's before the end of the year. Because i'm new to diesels, i'm hoping to get some guidance to put me on the right track to achieve this. Here's what I've done so far

-Previous owner rebuilt tranny, and it has less than 3k miles on it. I still have 10k remaining on the warranty. Maybe I can boost up the horsepower, and if tranny blows, I can have the warranty cover it.

-Last week, I had a single stack put in, no cats, and I put in a K&N air filter.

Here's step by step list of to-do's. Please let me know if I'm on the right track.

1. TST fuel plate kit w/boost fooler elbow & Pyrometer
2. 3000 or 4000 gsk kit (if necessary, i'll also get the HD valves)
3. larger fuel injectors..maybe 370's (not sure which kind)
4. Georend Transmission (if necessary) or Torque convertor and Valve body
5 Turbo or Twin Turbo upgrade
6. ....i don't know where to go from here..maybe nitrous or methanol injection/ fuel pump upgrade

How much horsepower and torque should mods 1-3 get me, and will this be enough to get me in the 15's in the 1/4 mile?

Last edited:
Welcome to Competition Diesel. And congrats on the 12V.

With the right mods to the P-pump and bombs 13's shouldn't be a problem to reach.

How many miles are on this rig?

I would plan the next mod to be the recommended gauges Pyro -Boost- ect.

I would get gauges also. Just cause the tranny is new dont mean it will hold al the power your going to give it. Fuel plate, injectors, 4K gov springs and turbo is what i would go with like you said. Nitrous is cheap power tha will get you there sooner.

RacinDuallie said:
How many miles are on this rig?

ect.