Tinker time

Vizsla

This weekend-

1-Swapping pedestal to the 03 version(got it powdercoated)from my 06 pedistal. I really feel that although it bolts up with 2 bolts now(both fell out the day it was installed-loctited them myself and they have been good ever since), 3 should help with the little bit of harmonics that are present, and being my passenger side up-pipe is sans egr connection the extra support is justified.

2-wrapping up-pipes and y-pipe with heat wrap, and painting manifolds with "special heat coating paint". What do you guys think of the heat wrapping project? Bear in mind when DJ did my engine, he discarded all of my heat shields.

3-Updating my egr cooler delete. Used the crackpipe method(cut egr cooler) and some sloppy welds(I am a lousy welder), Got a welder to fab me up a revised model with some fancy fab work and it looks good. Here is a pic of one in case someone is unfamilliar with the crackpipe mod. Is using a hose to make the turn given anyone a problem, mine has held up for a month or so or should I have a stainless pipe fabbed up instead? Do I need to weld egr valve shut?

Thanks!

Attachments

• egrdeletetrick-1-1.jpg
    egrdeletetrick-1-1.jpg
    36.6 KB · Views: 40
i take it you got the whole intake mani out?..if so why not just weld everything shut. I wish i took pics of how i did mine. simply concept though, closed off the valve and the cooler, put a fitting in where the coolant passes and then used some 5/8 hose with that goodyear spring thing for making sharp bends. on the uppipe i cut off the welds for the flange and layed a pipe of stainless pipe over it, and welded it closed.