warranty

Hamilton Cams

ignorant
I have had a few people call wanting warranty lately that I don't feel is my responsibility. I work very hard to make sure our parts are the best that they can be. In spite of this, the customer has the most to do with the parts longevity. It gets expensive covering other peoples mistakes and although I have been very understanding to date, it is getting a little excessive recently.

I get things like, this oil worked great in my small block. I have been building them for 20 years. In the words of Timbeaux, "THis ain't that". Run quality diesel oils!!!!!!

I also have cams that have been through 4 different engines in the last 3 years with three different owners and sold and swapped. There is no way in an instance like this to know what the cam went through. If the cam is broken by dropping it on the shop floor accidentally, I am sorry but I cannot cover that, and I can tell whether it whas broken in the engine or out. Be a big boy, take one on the chin and tell the truth. I might work with you based on your honesty.

I had a customer a few months back that broke his camshaft. After I inspected the camshaft I noticed galling on all of the journals. It was then that his buddy told me that he lost a few injectors and filled his engine up with diesel and lost oil pressure. After I confronted him he finally told the truth.

I also sell the same cores as Geoff at Colt cams, so I have customers from time to time that try to play buy from him and deal with warranty from me. I need to see an original reciept to prove where the cam came from.

After thinking about this for a while, I think the most fair thing to do is to give a 1 year warranty on our camshafts.

-Must have original reciept
-Must use zinc at break-in
-Must use new tappets
-Must only be used with Hamilton springs and pushrods.
-Does not cover any related damage
-For the original purchaser only
- It is the customers responsability to prove the above mentioned