Why would larger delivery valves make any difference?

600 Megawatts

Many Irons in the Fire
Ok guys, bear with me here.. I am new to this P pump deal and learning as much as I can as fast as I can while I have my pump on the workbench here and gathering other parts to install it on my 24v....

I am really struggling trying to comprehend how larger delivery valves would make any more power....

Here is why I am lost:

The P pump plungers are positive displacement pumps, they will push a given amount of fuel per stroke and gvien position of the rack, which sets the position of the helix relative to the spill port, correct?

And the injector holes are by far the smallest flow area in the system by a mile, they are the control orifice if you will, correct? And the fuel is nearly incompressible.... So why does changing to larger delivery valves make any difference at all????

Or do the delivery valves also function as a sort of bypass relief internal to the pump, thus altering the pressure of the injection pulse??

The only way you could deliver more fuel through a given size injector is with a higher pressure or a longer injection duration... The injection duration is obviously set by the rack position... So are the 'larger' delivery valves everyone talk about, really just delivery valves with stronger springs, thus increasing the pressure of the pump shot ??????

Or do the delivery valves indeed have a restricted area close enough to that of the injector holes such that they do indeed represent a substantial restriction to high flows, so increasing the size of the delivery valve reduces the restriction increasing the pressure seen at the injector????

once you get a DV in your hand, you'll understand how it works.

the problem with monster DV's is the shot duration gets way to big and sloppy and smoke and heat go way up with very little power increase