466 Performance ?'s

P

paul06d-max

Hey I am building a pulling tractor "Hot Farm", whats the hp difference/benifits on going to a 510ci from a 466ci. Am I just better off to stick with a 466 or what my ci limit is 510, p-pump and 3in 3.5out turbo. Any input would be greatly apperciated!
Thanks Paul

i have talked to a buddy who pulls a pro-farm where the limit is 540. we have come to the conclusion that while it may help, if you are on a budget you would be better off the get a real good port job on the head and making it a roller motor. but if you got the coin to do it all then def do it.

Ya am thinking of just staying 466 for now can always go bigger but I will take any sugestions!

any thoughts on this compression ratios anything? Thanks!

I'm no expert, but I've had a conversation with Brent at Gene's Machine Shop and for the 700-800HP build I'm planning, he suggest cutting the valve reliefs a bit to help with clearence at higher RPM and to "lower the compression ratio a bit". Why? Don't know and for whatever reason, i didn't ask.

But he was a really friendly guy on the phone. I'd call him for some more ideas.

Heath

hesutton any more info on your 7-800hp build up?

Still trying to find a transmission. Thought I had a 6453-A Spicer but that tranny need over $1000 in parts, so I'm going to pass on it. I've gotten a 10,000 lbs Dana 80 from a F450 that I'm going to use. Once I get the tranny and a T-case (likely from SCS), I'll start making everthing fit in the truck.