6.0 bulletproof upgrades

blos101

Life Saver
Ok, I'm not a ford guy but my buddy bought a 2007 6.0 powerstroke and I want to know what the best bulletproof upgrade kits there is available to buy as far as the dpf/egr deletes and tuner we can get for it. He doesn't have a clue how to work on anything but I'm one of those guys that has to help everyone so let me know what to get/install on this thing. Thanks in advance. Brian:thankyou2: keep in mind this isn't for a high HP build just a daily driver.

Last edited:
A good monitoring solution seems to be the consensus on first mods. After that: SCT with custom tunes, Coolant filter, EGR delete..Eventually head studs.. the list goes on and on.

Some places sell a full solution but its cheaper to piece it out. Make sure if he does studs to use oem head gaskets as ive been reading about a lot of failures with black onyx.

I'm by no means a mechanic.. but getting to be a MAJOR forum troll.. lol

Highly recommend an Edge insight for the monitor with egt sensor.

after that like said he can start doing things one at a time if the oil cooler and egr are still in check. things like coolant filter, fuel pressure spring, egr delete etc.

perfect time for first compD post

Tell him to start with a good coolant filter (I run a Sinister), an Edge insight (EGT probe if you plan to tune it), and if he plans to keep the thing for awhile he may as well do an EGR delete. These few simple things will help in the long run, ask me how I know! LOL

Take a look here :6.0L Bible Table of Contents <-- this will be VERY useful to you both. Good luck!

This is not meant to be disrespectful, but why would anyone buy a used 6.0 knowing they are going to have to throw $$ at the engine to keep it running?

ill take a stab at this one. if you buy the right one or do the homework you can get a good deal knowing what needs to be done or can get one without having to throw money at it.