7/16 Push rod clearancing???

Runninlean

Say When racing
So this has been bothering me from a conversation I had last week.

I had requested a set of 7/16 push rods for my latest build (05 CR). I was under the impression it was also what I paid for when I ordered several parts. However a lot more back ground to this story but not really the point.

I received a set of 3/8 .083 wall push rods. When I asked about the requested 7/16 rods I was told "1st you'll need to pull your cylinder head and clearance for the 7/16 pushrods or they will rub on the pushrod holes causing wear, heat, harmonics and possibly damage to the rod."

Now I have had 7/16 rods in 4 other builds and never once had a clearance issue. Have I just been lucky on those other occasions?

I had even offered to buy another set of 7/16 rods with the intent of making two sets of heavier duty rods using the 3/8 for intake only. The response I got was "Why would you use 7/16 for exhaust and 3/8 for intake?

I am no expert by any means but again I have been around the block a time or two. Am I the ignorant one here or does this not make sense to anyone else?

And this was all after you recieved the ones that where to short to begin with?

I cant speak for everyone, but if i sold push rods, and you ordered 7/16, and paid for them, you would get them... Is it hard to expect to get what was ordered? It shouldnt be. Sorry about the crap you are going through jake, ill just sit back and watch now.

Well I guess my big question here is does any of that quoted make any sense to anyone? Am I missing something?

I think trying to convince me the push rods were strong enough would have been a better avenue to take rather than what was said. Again unless I am completely ignorant here..

Last edited:
My builder tried an extreme duty push rod with a high profile/aggressive cam on my 6.7 and it did rub. I don't know if it was 7/16 or not.