dana 80 vs 11.5

wise guy

poop box hero
I am a newbie! I have been searching this for a while still unsure of rear axle set up for 2.6 truck. What is the best housing to start with? aam 11.5 seem to be axle of choice, but most guys are running a gm or dodge truck. I have a 80 drw housing my intention was 37 spline spool and 300m axles. I haven't purchased anything for the rear yet. But now I'm ready to start building a chassis. I see a lot of people switching to c&c axle is there an advantage to the narrower track width? So should I build the 80 or dump it and get aam? if so what is the best axle to get drw or srw? certain years better? is there much strength difference in 80 vs aam? Or should I suck it up and spend 10k on fully built 11.5?

I think they are both pretty equal to each other. But some may say one is stronger than the other.

On a side note I have a built 11.5 for sale. Billet spool billet axles 4.88 gear. Far less than $10k.

Ultimately you want a package that gives the least amount of tube flex.
In that vein, I'd run a 3500 DRW Cab and Chassis Dana 80, with a negative (inboard spaced) wheel.
Something like a 1st gen wheel spacing, possibly.

Mark.

The bearings on the AAM are huge, and they are easier to setup, the easy adjustment can be the weak points though, however they are easily fixed. I had a couple D80 cab and chassis and had good luck with them. However I have a cab and chassis from an early 90's chevy and the tubes look thicker than the dodge. It might just be an illusion, as I haven't ever measured them.

My truck currently sits on a drw ford dana 80 I was originally thinking of running Yukon spool 300m 37 spline axles with rear truss. My original thought was something in the 4.63 range I have a set of bfg 3157017 bfg but not sure of wheels to run dual's.
So axle flex I the primary reason for running c&c housing?