decompressed pistons

SMOKIN-U

Comp Diesel Sponsor
what are the benifits and down side to running a decompressed piston? If you did decompress i think stock on my 05 is 17.5-1 could a guy go down to like 15 or 15.5-1 thanks

IMO High boost numbers is the only reason for decompression. I can see if u want mass amounts of giggle gas but then you could just shave the top some to make room for the gas. I think it would be sweet to see some numbers from the same motor 1 not decompressed and 1 that was u can bet their would be a power loss.....
Brandon

really you would lose power? how is that i am new to the concept i have always heard of high hp trucks being decompressed. you would think if it hurt power they wouldnt do it. what would be the benifit then?
thanks, Ryan

I would say HIGH boost numbers and cylinder pressure is the reason they do it. If u cant fill the void what would be the point?
Brandon

Same engine same everything, except for lower compression, the higher compression engine will make more power.

Which contains more oxygen?
140cc combustion chamber/pocket volume or 170cc's of combustion chamber/pocket volume.
Now which will hold more fuel mix?
Early nitro burners learned to reduce the piston domes so they could squirt more fuel and still avoid hydraulic lock.

Last edited:
Well, we just did this

You may have seen Our build thread...Garmon's Interceptor build...My truck but his Know-How..

We decompressed my truck.....Cut the piston a hundred thousandth's off the top...

Reasons:

Other than minor ones like valve clearence after cam and decking, and for more cyl. volume.......The main reason is so the engine will LIVE at higher HP and RPM levels.....

Most race engines are spun at higher rpms and make huge power, so I would think it would live longer with not so much compression..