Help -- major oil in coolant

ENafziger

I'm looking for some advice here. A couple nights ago when I got home, I noticed that my '91.5 was leaking a lot of black sludge. It looks like the coolant system is filled with oil. There was no loss of power, odd sounds, etc. The truck has ~ 215k miles on it, and I've been running a HE351 turbo for a couple years with maximum boost reaching about 29 psi. It has an easy life serving as my daily commuter and occasional tow rig.

The two thoughts I had, is either the head gasket is compromised, or the oil cooler cracked. Is there anyway to confirm which of these it is? Is there anything else it could be?

What is the best way to go for reliably holding increased boost on these VE motors? I have had thoughts of putting a slightly bigger turbo on it. What boost pressure is a stock head gasket and studs good for? Does an MLS gasket from a 3rd gen fit?

Here's an ugly picture of what I was met with when I pulled the radiator cap:

ry%3D400

Thanks, Eric

Oil cooler is most likely to put oil in coolant...
Head gasket/cracked head put coolant in oil
Can pressurize the coolant system while engine off it will backflow and make oil if the crack is big enough.. The hard part is you trying to backflow a ~15# system in to a 60# system at max psi

Let someone else answer the other questions

Had that happen. It's a mess to get cleaned up. Was the head gasket..

It's a pain but a way to test the oil cooler is plug the ports and pressurize and stick it an water if bubbles come out its no good. Requires the oil cooler to be removed though. I had the same thing happen and it was a headgasket.

It's a pain but a way to test the oil cooler is plug the ports and pressurize and stick it an water if bubbles come out its no good. Requires the oil cooler to be removed though. I had the same thing happen and it was a headgasket.