Help With Rotating Assembly

EverydayDiesel

I drink diesel
Hello,

I had a head gasket go south and I decided to upgrade the rods while the truck was down. Carrillo rods with carr bolts just showed up in the mail and I plan on getting new bearings, hamilton 188/220 cam, new oil pump, rings, coated pistons and a girdle at the minimum.

I have no experience working on rotating assemblies so I feel I am at least entitled to some dumb questions. So for those of you that have experience doing this please chime in.

The truck has 121,000 miles on it.

Should I
Plan A
1. Replace the rods only
2. Have the head flattened
3. Have head o-ringed

Plan B
1. Dissemble the block and have it checked
2. Top of block flattened
3. Bottom of head flattened
4. Have head o-ringed

Plan C
1. I am open to suggestions

Here is the block as it sits
20161010_161950.jpg

I am open to any advice/experience you can give me.

Are plasti-gages ok to use for this build?
Should I buy a fowler cylinder bore gauge?

Build goals.
1. Daily Driver
2. 8-900 RELIABLE horse power
3. 4000 rpm, its a daily driver street truck so I have no need to spin the crap out of the motor

Thanks in advance on any advice you can give me.

I would go with B.
I would also have end caps on new rods ground for clearance, .015 on
each side.

Isn't "plan b" birth control? I definitely vote plan b for you. I would want the block honed with a deck plate, even tough it's not really necessary with your low miles.

will a machine shop 'blue print' everything and tell me what size bearings to buy? The more I read about all the different micrometers the less I really want to get into that.

will a machine shop 'blue print' everything and tell me what size bearings to buy? The more I read about all the different micrometers the less I really want to get into that.

Yes any decent machine shop can blueprint the engine for you