How cold is too Cold

CLINT_FX4_TxBoy

New to the Dark Side
This morning when I went out to start my truck it was about 65 F. Hell it wasnt even cold enough to put on the Carharrt. Started my truck up and she started bouncing around like a jumping bean. So i turned the key off and called for some help. My reference told me to warm up the glow plugs turn the key off and repeat a few times. I did this then started it and after bouncing around a bit more it started. I was wanting some opinions on what this might be. After driving it around and warming it up, i turned it off and then she started right back up. Could this be bad glow plugs or is 65 F cold enough to give me issues? Thanks in Advance.

I live in Maine and have never plugged in my truck and never had a cold start issue, even at well below zero.
65* should be no problem

Have any suggestions? Im figurin on taking it to a dealer tomorrow. Im no mechanic yet and rather get it looked at and fixed before it possibly messes something up more.

I dont even think about plugging in any of my trucks until it is -20 c

Seems to me though that the 6.0 will do that from time to time

Kevin

I plug mine in when it's outdoors and is 15F , but if I forget, it still starts like a champ, I just do it cause it makes me feel better

Mine was doing the same thing and I needed a new ICP. It was boucing around all over the place. Would happen int he temps your talking about.

Most likely sticking spool valves in the injectors. The dealer will probably reflash it to the inductive heating strategy. A good 5W40 oil will also help cold starts but at 65* you should have no issues at all.