Ideas to help spool?

MD-LUCKY

Difficult To Pronounce...
Wanted to see if anyone has some ideas for me here.

I've been running a 35/40 hybrid for several years now. I recently decided to upgrade to a ED 62/68/14. I can't say enough good things about ED, their customer service, and their product. I'll have a whole post about this in a little bit..

I'm just trying to get the spool to light as low as possible, and I wanted to see what other folks say about where their 300 frames light, as well as find out if I'm in need of a few changes..

Here is what happens. If I'm in, say 5th gear, I can bring it down to about 1000 rpm and start to roll into it. At about 1200 to 1300 rpm, the boost needle starts to rise. It will move up to about 10psi by about 1500rpm, then from 1500 to 2000 it feels like an eternity. Black smoke starts to pour, and it is a complete dog. Stays pouring black smoke for several seconds, and then it hits about 1900-2000rpm. Once it hits, I go from around 10psi to about 30 as fast as you can snap your fingers. From 2000 up, the smoke clears, the truck takes off, and everything is amazing.

I thought maybe the wastegate was cracking and bleeding off, so I tightened it down to where it is closed. Same results.

I went through 3-9 on the smarty settings, thinking maybe I was putting the fire out and causing those issues. No real difference. It may spool slightly better with no timing, but it is a difference of about 100-200 rpm at the very most, and it is still extremely smokey and doggy from 1500-2000.

I also played with the torque management, turned it completely on to reduce fuel down low, and it made no difference. Turned it completely off and it made no difference.

Played around with timing settings, from the highest timing to none at all. Really no difference again (maybe spools a few hundred quicker with no timing, but not between 1500-2000).