Makeing weasing noise

dkimmel

I just picked up a 2004 f350 with a 6.0. It has a weasing noise that I can hear in intake. When I'm driving it the engine will miss off idle. Under full throttle it runs good. It has 280k on engine, but has had oil cooler, injectors, and an egr delete installed. Not all at once. The ficm is also new. I was told possible push rod or head gasket. Cylinder #6 fails contribution test.
any ideas?:umno:

Last edited:
Y pipe or intake gasket causing the noise, injector or possibly bad Ficm. Worst case down bad cylinder

The ficm was replaced already. It picks up the cylinder around 1200 rpm then the thing storms. Cat was also removed thought it might be plugged.

I'm new to the 6.0 engine. Would an injector make is have wease in the intake. The truck also shutters at cruising speed unless you into the throttle. You really feel it when converter is locked up.

My noise has changed to a compression noise in engine valley, no coolant loss. Can a head gasket cause this. I can see smoke in valley also. The compression sound is there every time cylinder fires.

Pull the lids and look at the heights of the valves, sounds to me like a valve train issue.

^^what he said. Check your valves. Had one do similar to how you describe and was a bent vavle. Also the guy had ran it for a long time till the problem got real bad and the intake was full of soot.

^^what he said. Check your valves. Had one do similar to how you describe and was a bent vavle. Also the guy had ran it for a long time till the problem got real bad and the intake was full of soot.

Thanks I'll do just that- I'll need to free up some shop space first.

2nd valve train. Have had many valve guides fail. If you are getting compression in v of engine its time to pull heads and have them reworked if they are not cracked