Spartan + 6.4 + Tranny = ???

CSaley

I am fairly new to the wholle ford, 6.4 game. I have always been a Cummins fan..

Anyway how do these 6.4s do with a 310 spartan tune and a non built auto tranny?

Thanks!

Fuel only they seem to do fine. I'm sure how often you beat on it has an effect on it to though.

I'd like to know too, i'm selling my twin turbo 12 valve for a 6.4 and intend to put a 310 tune on it.

like danny said they usually do fine, i've heard the 275 spartan would be a better DD tune and easier on the tranny. It all depends on driving style and how hard you beat on it.

I've had our 450 set on the 310 tune and towed heavy with it and not had any trouble so far. One thing about it though, I dont like the harsh shifting the 310 gives you for every day driving.

Any of the tuners will work out pretty well. Trans shifting can be tailored between who you get the tuner from. If your running a stock trans I know Spartan has a TCM you can get that helps out. But if you gonna upgrade your trans then you can do without it. I dont run Spartan, for the record.

The tranny is perfectly fine with the 275 and under tunes as long as your not an idiot with the truck. The 310 tune is ok for daily driving, but if you begin to beat on it then its going to really limit the life. The new 350 tune is a transmission eater.

i run a 345 tune truck loves it gets the best milage have the 350 tune but it turns the tranny to crap. guess it just means time for a tranny build! you will; be safe with the 310 just dont bag it to much.

i run a 345 tune truck loves it gets the best milage have the 350 tune but it turns the tranny to crap. guess it just means time for a tranny build! you will; be safe with the 310 just dont bag it to much.

If your referring to the 345 tune from KEM, that's because it's about the same power level as our 310 tune. Our 350 tune is recommended for use with a Suncoast, not the stock tranny.

Going by same day dyno numbers for comparison, yes I am serious.