Truck wants to keep going

jaime355

Six Slow
Iv got an 06 and when I let off the throttle the truck wants to keep going, the harder I get into the worse it is, does anyone else experience this with their 5.9 or know what might be causing it to do this?

Yup, rail hang.

My 06 did it like crazy, until i put EFI Live on it.

Yes and no. Normal with crude tuning, but now there are better options for tuning that does not induce rail hang.

I'm new to the cummins, had a 6.0 for too long, so I wasn't sure if it was normal or not. I bought the truck with some mods already done. It has an air dog 150, wicked cp3, wicked 120 injectors, wicked twins, htt cooler, arp studs, coolant bypass, bd trans, rev max tq converter and Detroit diffs. It had a preditor fuel module that I took out because it didn't seem to do much, it also has a smarty and when I plug it in it says smarty for Don Landis, does this mean that it is custom tuned? I was thinking about efi live, would that be better for my current setup and stop the truck from wanting to runaway? Thanks for the help

It's not custom tuned, you have the old TNT-R file which used to be a VIN locked program that only the lucky few could get. Watch those injectors, I've seen plenty that have had tips blown off from excessive rail pressure.

id get efi live it will get rid of the hang from what i understand. i get the hang too it will overpower the brakes and is very dangerous on snowy roads!

Didn't bother me too much until it snowed this weekend, like you said its dangerous, I was pulling a guys broke plow truck out of a drift and off the road so it wouldn't get hit,it was a big truck so I had to yank it pretty good and that was diff the worst rail hang I've seen out of it, is that smarty I have not a good one to have?