47RE issue.

ComnRailPwr

Im new to the auto world and vp trucks at that. all the diesels i have ever owned have been common rail or ford stick trucks. i know common rail and NV trannys inside and out but have a 47RE now and need to expand my knowledge.

the tranny has been built with converter and different clutches. i believe the rest is stock. the truck wont move when first started in any gear unless u wait a couple minuits at idel or you give it lots of pedal and then it like finally catches. shifts and runs fine when warmed up to operating tempature. what causes thes??

Converter drain back. Let it idle in neutral for 30secs or so before you first drive it. They removed the check valve in the line to help flow. Nothing major.

well thats good to hear. i thought i was gettin ready to have tranny issues. thanks bud.

or just replace or clean 1 way valve, then when u cold start and want to go, it will

Throw it in nutral before you take off so fluid runs thru the trans. you should be letting your truck run and circulate fluid for a minute anyway.

Dom

i agree with you TwiztedMetal. it,s just for others when they drive it(girlfriend), i dont want them floring it then breaking something. where is to check valve at so i can inspect it or see if it is even there?? also where is a good place to get a vacume diagram/Service manual for the truck. i only have one for an 03. my cruise dont work. it may be due to haveing a front axel out of a 95 under it. there if a plug under the radiator shroud i noticed wasn't plugged to anything. i dont get a light or nothing. it is a mechanical actuated cruise i know that much. also anything special in dropping the OD unit i need to know about. seems to have a leak where it mates to the tranny. truck was lacking lots of tlc but i only gave 4500 for it with 140K. couldnt pass it up ya know..

Last edited: